Harry Mighell wins inaugural International WASZP Games

The International WASZP Games at Campione, Lake Garda, Italy

It was a fitting finale to the first International WASZP Games at Campione on Lake Garda. Harry Mighell from Sorrento in Victoria, Australia, did a horizon job on the fleet in light 7 - 10 knot marginal foiling conditions.

Race 9 started in a patchy light breeze from the South, that swung around the compass right from the start. The fleet of 53 WASZP's packed the start line, low riding off on starboard tack. This time the shift further to true South forced the majority to take the left side of the course sailing low towards Malcesine on the East side of the Lake. A number of competitors fell into holes or off the foils stopping dead to let clusters of other WASZP's past.

Rory Rose (GBR) from Aberdeen & Stonehaven YC in Scotland, led a group of the lighter youth sailors around lap 1, but the experience of Harry Mighell was enough for him to keep them in his sights. Harry rounded just behind Reed Baldridge (USA). Guillaume Rol, the 19 year old Swiss sailor and Stuart Appleby from WPNSA in the UK were up in the front pack.

Downwind, Harry Mighell pulled away leaving the young guns to try and defend their positions against the more experienced WASZP sailors. Back upwind for the second time and Mighell used the pressure in the middle section of the course to sail well clear, but the places were changing behind him as the breeze continued to oscillate.

Rory Rose held on to second and the kiwi Bruce Curson appeared to be reeling in the places just ahead of Joan Costa from Spain, his nearest rival overall. Reed Baldridge was slipping down the pack and his challenge for the overall title rapidly fading.

The last leg was a bit of a game changer, as the breeze begun to fade and the struggle to stay in pressure to foil becoming an absolute necessity. Harry Mighell cruised across the finish line to win by a country mile. Harry was a key cog in the design and build team of the WASZP and it was a proud moment for him to win the inaugural International WASZP Games in the boat he was largely responsible for creating.

Behind Harry, second to cross the line was a jubilant young Swiss youth sailor Guillaume Rol, enjoying his moment in the sun. Carving through the fleet for third was Kohei Kajimoto, one of the WASZP team who sails in Melbourne, Australia. In fourth was Joan Costa from Spain, who at only 17 years of age, sealed the Youth category. Behind Joan, another Spanish young gun, Ruben Booth, finished with his best performance of the championship. Reed Baldridge crept over in sixth to claim second overall in the championship.

Once the results were churned through the computer and the second discard taken into account, the finishing order for the top 10 looked like this:

Results (Top 10 after 9 races inc 2 discards)

```
1 AUS 238 - Harold Mighell - 4,2,3,1,2,1,1,1,1 = 9pts
2 USA 2383 - Reed Baldridge - 1,1,2,3,3,3,2,3,5 = 15pts
3 AUS 2380 - Kohei Kajimoto - 9,6,5,2,4,2,6,2,ocs = 27pts
4 ESP 2167 - Joan Costa - 5,4,OCS,4,6,5,5,9,3 = 32pts
5 NZL 2382 - Bruce Curson - 11,8,6,5,8,6,4,5,7 = 41pts
6 FRA 44 - Pierre Leboucher - 6,9,7,6,12,7,7,7,9 = 49pts
7 AUS 2395 - Tristan Brown - 16,5,9,12,7,10,9,4,8 = 52pts
8 AUS 2390 - Dean Souter - 18,dnf,1,26,1,4,3,6,20 = 53pts
9 AUS 2389 - Gus Ekberg - 2,11,11,7,9,9,11,12,24 = 60pts
10 GBR 2078 - Stuart Appleby - 7,7,15,10,11,8,10.,8,13 = 61pts
```

NB: See below for full results

Category trophy winners

1st Silver fleet (6.9m rig) - Nicolai Jacobsen (NOR)

1 Youth (-18 years) & first European - Joan Costa (ESP)

1 Female - Sara Winther (NZL)

1 Master (45 years+) - Mark Orams (NZL)

Speed Demon of the day was Mikel Vazquez from Spain with a speed of 18.3 knots in very light airs. Speed Freak of the Week was Bruce Curson on New Zealand with a top speed of 21.8 knots.

Before the final race of the WASZP Games, a Handicap Pursuit Race was staged whilst the wind was still too light to foil. Almost all competitors took part in this fun race and the format met with general approval.

David Lilburn from Royal Tay YC led throughout the first lap being chased by Sara Winther of New Zealand and Claudio Lenzi from Circulo Vela Bellano in Italy. As a faint breeze increased and some of the lighter sailors managed to briefly foil, the fleet condensed to an exciting finish. The winner was Stuart Appleby from Weymouth in the UK.

The WASZP team will be announcing further WASZP International Games events and a series of regional championship regattas in the near future. For more information please visit: **www.waszp.com**

Links:

For more info on the class go to www.waszp.com

facebook: WASZP Games

Photos credits: Martina Orsini

Videos by Oliver Hartas of Hartas Productions

Video links: https://www.facebook.com/waszpgames/

For more details email: Jonny Fullerton at regattaservices at gmail.com

Overall Results:

- 1 Harold Mighell AUS 9 pts
- 2 Reed Baldrige USA 15
- 3 Kohei Kajimoto JPN/AUS 27
- 4 Joan Costa ESP 32
- 5 Bruce Curson NZL 41
- 6 Pierre Leboucher FRA 49
- 7 Tristan Brown AUS 52
- 8 Dean Souter AUS 53
- 9 Gus Ekberg AUS 60

- 10 Stuart Appleby GBR 61
- 11 Rory Rose GBR 78
- 12 Tamas Szamody HUN 92
- 13 Mark Orams NZL 94
- 14 Alexandre Festino FRA 100
- 15 Alexander Hogheim SUI 101
- 16 Marcal Costa ESP 110
- 17 Guillaume Rol SUI 111
- 18 Ruben Booth ESP 123
- 19 Luis Horacio Canuto ARG 123
- 20 Nicolai Jacobsen NOR 135
- 21 Stefano Ferrighi ITA 136
- 22 Jarudd Hugo SWE 137
- 23 Jack Abbott AUS 141
- 24 Rasmus Granzin SWE 161
- 25 Glen Sowry NZL 162
- 26 Benjamin Cowen FRA 165
- 27 Max Wallenberg SUI 168
- 28 William Heathcote GBR 168
- 29 Bart Peeters NED 168
- 30 Erik Karlsen NOR 185
- 31 Mikel Vazquez ESP 190
- 32 Henrik Haaland NOR 197
- 33 Francesco Ivaldi ITA 208
- 34 Richard Schultheis MLT 209
- 35 Dave Lilburn GBR 225
- 36 Pit Muller SUI 229
- 37 Claudio Lenzi ITA 230
- 38 Thomas Hersperger SUI 234
- 39 Sara Winther NZL 235
- 40 Frederikke Foss NOR 236
- 41 Tobias Sandmo Birkeland NOR 269
- 42 Melissa Kalicin ANT/USA 273
- 43 Pere-Andrew Ubach de Fuentes ESP 276
- 44 Pean Oscar FRA 286
- 45 Carn Morgan FRA 295
- 46 Marc Babin FRA 303
- 47 David Ubach ESP 333
- 48 Tristan Payne GBR 347
- 49 Frank Mulhauser GER 359
- 50 Teemu Poyhonen FIN 369
- 51 Martin Schulz-Scheepers GER 378
- 51 Andre Friederich LUX 378
- 51 Gian Ferrighi ITA 378